16-3A BOYS HOOPS HONORS HAS BULLDOGS “ALL IN” Treston Dowell named Coach of the Year

By Charlie Chitwood

To say that Tristen Dowell’s first season in Jefferson as the new boys’ basketball coach went pretty good is the kind­est of understatements.

Dowell’s 2016-17 version of Bulldog basketball rolled through District 16-3A in un­defeated fashion and piled up 25 victories en route to a Class 3A-Region II Area Playoff ap­pearance before bowing out to Mt. Vernon. All 11 players on the Bulldog roster for that final game were recognized recently when the all-district squads were released.

Junior post Grayson Early was named the loop’sMost Valuable Player after leading his new team to a 25-8 over­all record. Dee Mitchell – an­other junior who transferred with Early from Avinger’s state championship squad – was named the District Offen­sive MVP while Dowell was selected by his peers as the 16-3A Coach of the Year.

Those superlatives paved the way for Jefferson to have four players named the 16-3A First Team, as Cameron Hicks and Kepha Luster also gar­nered enough respect to be named among the very best of the eight-team district.

Senior Tanner Murphy – in his first and only year of var­sity basketball – joined Cur­tis Henry on the 16-3A Sec­ond Team while Honorable Mention taps went to Kylan Thomas, Eric Gipson, Taylor Smith, Todd Polver and Jaron Kelly.

The district’s other super­lative…

 (To continue reading this article, please contact us today for a print or email subscription to the Jefferson Jimplecute! — (903) 665-2462, JIMPLECUTE1848@GMAIL.COM)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s